# Holy ALMOST Scammed.....

**URL:** <https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497>\
**Category:** NYSpeed Off Topic\
**Created:** [August 19, 2008, 7:40am UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497 "2008-08-19T07:40:27Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 14\
**Page:** 3

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BuickGN](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/buickgn/32/7200_2.png) [@BuickGN](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/BuickGN)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 2:47pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/41 "2008-08-19T14:47:18Z")

</div>

> [@Firehawk853](#):
>
> especially ones from Paypal or Ebay. scammers.

ehh i get them all day at work, its actually funny now, writing back to them playing the game for as long as i can.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![LAFENGAS](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/lafengas/32/7573_2.png) [@LAFENGAS](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/LAFENGAS)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 2:48pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/42 "2008-08-19T14:48:05Z")

</div>

> [@badazzss](#):
>
> seriously… how did you not notice the completely different URL?

I understand the URL is different… but what i don’t think you’re getting is that this window comes up when I LOGIN TO BoA, not just some random time. I’ll be logged into my BoA account and a window just pops up asking for re-verification.

If it was just a random pop-up or while i’m doing something totally not associated with banking, that puts up more of a red flag.

The fact is…it’s easy to just do something like this in stride of a common routine without thinking much about it.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![LAFENGAS](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/lafengas/32/7573_2.png) [@LAFENGAS](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/LAFENGAS)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 2:52pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/43 "2008-08-19T14:52:00Z")

</div>

> [@BuickGN](#):
>
> good catch, im not sure whats worse tho, u almost getting scammed or u using norton for anything.
> 
> 🙂

haha, i know… i honestly don’t know what the best option is for virus scans…i just run periodic virus checks

I’m thinking now that this must be some sort of a virus? Nothing is being caught in my computer scans.

recommendations?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BuickGN](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/buickgn/32/7200_2.png) [@BuickGN](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/BuickGN)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 2:53pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/44 "2008-08-19T14:53:04Z")

</div>

AVG free \>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>

norton is just too much of a hog, and really sucks imo.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![LZ1](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/7ab992/32.png) [@LZ1](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/LZ1)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 2:54pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/45 "2008-08-19T14:54:16Z")

</div>

Un plug the computer from the internet.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BuickGN](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/buickgn/32/7200_2.png) [@BuickGN](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/BuickGN)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 2:54pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/46 "2008-08-19T14:54:58Z")

</div>

lol ^^^ Step away!!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![LZ1](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/7ab992/32.png) [@LZ1](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/LZ1)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 2:57pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/47 "2008-08-19T14:57:33Z")

</div>

Is your computer fully updated with the latest Microsoft updates?

Latest release of Firefox?

Current anti virus software?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![LAFENGAS](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/lafengas/32/7573_2.png) [@LAFENGAS](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/LAFENGAS)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 3:05pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/48 "2008-08-19T15:05:53Z")

</div>

> [@BuickGN](#):
>
> AVG free \>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>\>
> 
> norton is just too much of a hog, and really sucks imo.

that’s what i have actually. AVG is what i frequently update and run the virus scan… For some reason though, the AVG icon in my start menu is black and white and says “Anti Virus: Internal Virus Database is out-of-date”

However, i click on it to get the latest updates and says i already have the latest updates.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![LAFENGAS](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/lafengas/32/7573_2.png) [@LAFENGAS](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/LAFENGAS)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 3:08pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/49 "2008-08-19T15:08:00Z")

</div>

> [@LZ](#):
>
> Is your computer fully updated with the latest Microsoft updates?
> 
> Latest release of Firefox?
> 
> Current anti virus software?

i update my Firefox when i get the pop-ups telling me updates are available and my AGV anti-virus updates automatically, stopping only if i choose to cancel. :shrug:

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BuickGN](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/buickgn/32/7200_2.png) [@BuickGN](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/BuickGN)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 3:12pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/50 "2008-08-19T15:12:38Z")

</div>

reload avg, just download the latest and update it, it should work then, i would also recommend removing norton and all traces of it.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![ieatpaint](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/ieatpaint/32/7311_2.png) [@ieatpaint](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/ieatpaint)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 3:40pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/51 "2008-08-19T15:40:37Z")

</div>

axia folder, are you a university of phoenix student as well?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![LAFENGAS](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/lafengas/32/7573_2.png) [@LAFENGAS](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/LAFENGAS)\
**Post date:** [August 19, 2008, 5:08pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/52 "2008-08-19T17:08:25Z")

</div>

^ part of my business name

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![\_Karu](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/_karu/32/7602_2.png) [@\_Karu](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/_Karu)\
**Post date:** [August 25, 2008, 1:22pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/53 "2008-08-25T13:22:06Z")

</div>

For those out there looking for jobs, BE CAREFUL! Same thing happened in job searching world.

I ALMOST fell for this one:  
[http://around-the-clock-careers.com/JobOffer/Register.cfm?JobPositionID=46109](http://around-the-clock-careers.com/JobOffer/Register.cfm?JobPositionID=46109)

More infos:  
[http://www.scamfraudalert.com/f38/internet-solutions-corporation-www-internetsolutionscorp-com-12750/](http://www.scamfraudalert.com/f38/internet-solutions-corporation-www-internetsolutionscorp-com-12750/)

Holy crap.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![fbrendan](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/f/d26b3c/32.png) [@fbrendan](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/fbrendan)\
**Post date:** [September 3, 2008, 4:37pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497/54 "2008-09-03T16:37:41Z")

</div>

Bump. Got fraud charges today. No need for a new thread seeing it’s 10 bucks. But TTT. Keep an eye out.

DBT PURCHASE KCSOFTLLC COM KCSOFTLLC COM 5094611556 NY Cleared 9.95

[http://www.google.com/search?source=ig&hl=en&rlz=&=&q=KCSOFTLLC&btnG=Google+Search](http://www.google.com/search?source=ig&hl=en&rlz=&=&q=KCSOFTLLC&btnG=Google+Search)

[Previous page](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/holy-almost-scammed/53497.md?page=2)
