# new AIM virus

**URL:** <https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277>\
**Category:** NYSpeed Off Topic\
**Created:** [December 4, 2005, 4:14pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277 "2005-12-04T16:14:22Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 14\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![MikeRi24](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/57b2e6/32.png) [@MikeRi24](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/MikeRi24)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2005, 4:14pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/1 "2005-12-04T16:14:22Z")

</div>

just as a warning, there is a new AIM virus going around 9at least this is the first ive heard of it)…u get something from some1 that says something like “hey, check out my new myspace pic” and it ahs a link. now me, being the dumbass that i am, clicked it (cuz the person i got it from is all into myspace and is always sending me that stuff to begin with) and i got it. it sends this to every1 on your buddy list and repeats the cycle like once ever 3 hrs. ive been trying for 2 days to get rid of this, and finally got it out (god i can only hope) for good. below is the link to the place that has the ‘fix it’ program  
[http://www.jayloden.com/VirusClean.htm](http://www.jayloden.com/VirusClean.htm)

NOTES: this will put all of the virus program files and whatnot in a quarentine folder on the desktop, and some of them cannot be deleted. ive found that u have to re-start in safe mode, then delete the files (make sure u emty the recycle bin at the same time as well) and then restart in normal mode. i do not kno if this is needed, but just to be on the safe side, i also un-installed AIM and did a fresh install, just in case.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![zero\_assault](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/z/dfb087/32.png) [@zero\_assault](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/zero_assault)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2005, 5:20pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/2 "2005-12-04T17:20:27Z")

</div>

ever since i had internet grade when kids started to send me links to like [rotten.com](http://rotten.com) I always check to see what people are linking me too

there have been so many of these virus’s going on its not even funny

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Vrooom](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/vrooom/32/7198_2.png) [@Vrooom](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/Vrooom)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2005, 6:22pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/3 "2005-12-04T18:22:03Z")

</div>

Ahhh I JUST got an Im from a friend saying “Check out my new pictures!”… I clicked it but I didn’t download it because I didn’t recognize the file extension…so since I didnt will I be ok?..All has been good so far…?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![HotRodKid](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/hotrodkid/32/7609_2.png) [@HotRodKid](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/HotRodKid)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2005, 6:31pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/4 "2005-12-04T18:31:01Z")

</div>

i keep getting one from a friend, except its a link to a file on [yousendit.com](http://yousendit.com) …

personaly, when i get a link-out-of-the-blue from someone, even if it looks valid i always ask what it is first, virus’s arent good at conversation 🙂

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![MikeRi24](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/m/57b2e6/32.png) [@MikeRi24](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/MikeRi24)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2005, 6:36pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/5 "2005-12-04T18:36:46Z")

</div>

> [@Vrooom](#):
>
> Ahhh I JUST got an Im from a friend saying “Check out my new pictures!”… I clicked it but I didn’t download it because I didn’t recognize the file extension…so since I didnt will I be ok?..All has been good so far…?

i think u should be ok. all the people on my buddy list that go it didint open it (or no1 that ahs said anything yet) and nothing happened to them so i think u r ok

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![AKA-FERRARI](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/aka-ferrari/32/7260_2.png) [@AKA-FERRARI](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/AKA-FERRARI)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2005, 7:54pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/6 "2005-12-04T19:54:21Z")

</div>

> [@Mikes98RT](#):
>
> just as a warning, there is a new AIM virus going around 9at least this is the first ive heard of it)…u get something from some1 that says something like “hey, check out my new myspace pic” and it ahs a link. now me, being the dumbass that i am, clicked it (cuz the person i got it from is all into myspace and is always sending me that stuff to begin with) and i got it. it sends this to every1 on your buddy list and repeats the cycle like once ever 3 hrs. ive been trying for 2 days to get rid of this, and finally got it out (god i can only hope) for good. below is the link to the place that has the ‘fix it’ program  
> [http://www.jayloden.com/VirusClean.htm](http://www.jayloden.com/VirusClean.htm)
> 
> NOTES: this will put all of the virus program files and whatnot in a quarentine folder on the desktop, and some of them cannot be deleted. ive found that u have to re-start in safe mode, then delete the files (make sure u emty the recycle bin at the same time as well) and then restart in normal mode. i do not kno if this is needed, but just to be on the safe side, i also un-installed AIM and did a fresh install, just in case.

i got pwned by that virus, the thing sends it to everyone that is online on your buddie list, i was soooooooooooooo pissed!!!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Fry](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/fry/32/7284_2.png) [@Fry](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/Fry)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2005, 8:53pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/7 "2005-12-04T20:53:33Z")

</div>

Check my thread in geek’s section. One’s been going around all day that nailed me, er my fiance on my computer. Don’t click the link to a christmas card anybody IM’s you…

> This AIM user has sent you a Christmas Card! To open it please visit: [http://greetings.aol.com/index.pd?source=greetings](http://greetings.aol.com/index.pd?source=greetings) card?my\_christmas\_card.scr  
> This senders personal note: Merry Christmas!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![73ghia](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/7/8baadc/32.png) [@73ghia](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/73ghia)\
**Post date:** [December 5, 2005, 5:41am UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/8 "2005-12-05T05:41:47Z")

</div>

My computer and OS are impervious to viri (especially aim viri). As a security consultant has said… several people would have to spend some serious time working on it to create hacks / viri.

This happened awhile ago when the Banana Boat Driver (SkunkApe) got a similar virus… It just pissed me off kuz no one wants to talk to him… and he was IM ing me.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![newman](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/newman/32/7569_2.png) [@newman](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/newman)\
**Post date:** [December 5, 2005, 5:48am UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/9 "2005-12-05T05:48:06Z")

</div>

the funny thing about these viruses is that they blow your cover. All those people who you stalk on AIM who don’t like or who don’t like you get an IM from you because they are in your “i hate you and hope you die” buddy group.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Vrooom](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/vrooom/32/7198_2.png) [@Vrooom](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/Vrooom)\
**Post date:** [December 5, 2005, 5:39pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/10 "2005-12-05T17:39:32Z")

</div>

argh…I was on AIM… it quit…and now it’s not letting me sign on. Says it’s unavailable…? What should I do?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Pass\_McGass](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/pass_mcgass/32/7616_2.png) [@Pass\_McGass](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/Pass_McGass)\
**Post date:** [December 5, 2005, 5:41pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/11 "2005-12-05T17:41:55Z")

</div>

^^ mine did the same thing a little bit ago.

try again, its working.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Vrooom](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/vrooom/32/7198_2.png) [@Vrooom](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/Vrooom)\
**Post date:** [December 5, 2005, 5:44pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/12 "2005-12-05T17:44:46Z")

</div>

yessss

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![AlbinoMonkeyRat](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/a/bb73d2/32.png) [@AlbinoMonkeyRat](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/AlbinoMonkeyRat)\
**Post date:** [December 5, 2005, 5:44pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/13 "2005-12-05T17:44:51Z")

</div>

^ I can’t connect to AIM either. (well, for anything long enough to have a conversation, anyway) I think it’s on AIM’s end, cuz I’m using Trillian, not AIM.

edit: n/m. WTF was that about?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Freek](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/freek/32/7357_2.png) [@Freek](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/Freek)\
**Post date:** [December 5, 2005, 6:23pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/new-aim-virus/5277/14 "2005-12-05T18:23:51Z")

</div>

see i love these virus things … you get to find out who has u one their buddy list that you really don’t know but that know you … lol
