# Possible Nigerian Scam?

**URL:** <https://forums.speedlife.net/t/possible-nigerian-scam/62998>\
**Category:** NYSpeed Off Topic\
**Created:** [February 13, 2009, 2:20pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/possible-nigerian-scam/62998 "2009-02-13T14:20:08Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 6\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![StrokedZ28](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/strokedz28/32/7592_2.png) [@StrokedZ28](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/StrokedZ28)\
**Post date:** [February 13, 2009, 2:20pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/possible-nigerian-scam/62998/1 "2009-02-13T14:20:08Z")

</div>

So I’m selling my wifes new blackberry. There is a for sale thread here on the board. I placed and add on craigslist as well. I received this email today regarding the phone.

> I am very grateful to hear back from you. i’m a medical doctor residing in texas.The (New Blackberry Bold)) is for my daughter’s birthday present coming up next week,due to her brilliant performance,she was currently transfered from US to **West Africa** with his team on a research on Human development under world Health Organization. I’ll be paying you through Paypal or fedex money order,it’s secure and protects two parties in a transaction.  
> **I will forward my duaghter’s residential address to you for shipping as soon as the payment reaches you.** So send me your paypal email address,so that i can make the payment.
> 
> NB: I will be paying you $550 for both the cost price and shipping fee. Regard.

Now I was only asking $450 for the phone and she does say that she will send the shipping information after she receives my paypal address. But it sounds weird, I mean for a supposed doctor she has horrible grammar.

Is there anything here I should be concerned about?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![boardjnky4](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/96bed5/32.png) [@boardjnky4](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/boardjnky4)\
**Post date:** [February 13, 2009, 2:21pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/possible-nigerian-scam/62998/2 "2009-02-13T14:21:20Z")

</div>

:picard:

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![StrokedZ28](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/strokedz28/32/7592_2.png) [@StrokedZ28](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/StrokedZ28)\
**Post date:** [February 13, 2009, 2:24pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/possible-nigerian-scam/62998/3 "2009-02-13T14:24:27Z")

</div>

> [@boardjnky4](#):
>
> :picard:

Hey I’m just asking.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Freek](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/freek/32/7357_2.png) [@Freek](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/Freek)\
**Post date:** [February 13, 2009, 2:24pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/possible-nigerian-scam/62998/4 "2009-02-13T14:24:59Z")

</div>

let them send you the money … then never ship it

note to anyone else. If you think it’s a scam it probably is. Especially if it has ANYTHING to do with africa.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![theblue](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/theblue/32/5074_2.png) [@theblue](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/theblue)\
**Post date:** [February 13, 2009, 2:25pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/possible-nigerian-scam/62998/5 "2009-02-13T14:25:01Z")

</div>

this is beyond obvious…

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![tpgsr](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex034/user_avatar/forums.speedlife.net/tpgsr/32/7374_2.png) [@tpgsr](https://forums.speedlife.net/u/tpgsr)\
**Post date:** [February 13, 2009, 2:26pm UTC](https://forums.speedlife.net/t/possible-nigerian-scam/62998/6 "2009-02-13T14:26:34Z")

</div>

:picard:
