Tranmission question

hello everyone
sorry, im still very new to the 300zx scene

I was wondering how difficult is it to change an automatic to a manual transmission. I only ask cause most of the 300zx’s for sale are all automatics.

On my civic its a pain in the ass, pretty much not worth doing. Is this true for the 300zx as well?

can a JDM tranny fit in a NA 300zx?

thanks in advance guys

I assume you’re talking about the Z32??

In that case, it is difficult but no where near as difficult as a civic. If you intend on doing it with the engine in, the only “out of the ordinary” tool you will need is a drive extension that spans 3 to 5 feet. It is necessary to get the two top bolts at the top of the transmission that bolt the tranny to the engine.

All the rest is like changing a manual tranny in a RWD car. I did it with member Hanzzzzz on member Shorteaz Z32 a few months back and it was a straightforward swap. Member Bountywolf has done it to his car and mentioned there is some electrical work involved. I did not do any electrical work on Shorteaz’s car and it has been working fine since September 2007.

The JDM Tranny is the same. The only difference is between the NA tranny and the TT tranny. The belhousing is slightly larger on the inside of the TT tranny to compensate for the larger flywheel. You can still however put an NA tranny on a TT engine and Vice Versa by either grinding down the inside of the bellhousing of the NA tranny to fit over the TT flywheel along with shimming the starter outwards, or grinding the surface of the starter mounts on the TT tranny to engage with the NA flywheel.

Not trying to thread jack or anything but I had the same question with regards to my alti. Its an '02 2.5S 4AT and looking to grab a 5MT off of a 2.5S. How hard is this? Whats required? Is it worth doing?

the 05-06’s are a superior pain due to being OBD3
but yours is obd2

probably just the standard items
these are common in any swap but possibly not necessary in yours.