Any legal binding after sale of car?

Maybe someone with some legal knowledge can help me on this one.

I sold my Beretta about a month ago. At the time of the sale I described what I thought was wrong with it. I thought that the wheel bearing went out when I was driving it to work after I got it inspected.

I drove it home (10 miles) and parked it… The kid who bought it brough a wheel bearing and swapped it out. Still had the same problem.

It turns out that the lower dogbone mount had come loose. Tightened that down and it was fine.

He calls me up today telling me that now the input shaft for the transmission is shot (as told to him by a mechanic) because of the motor mount.

OK, so maybe that is the case. However, I am not a mechanice and I described the problems to the best of my mechanical knowlegde.

The car was bought for $1200 and there was no warranty implied, I mean hell I let him use my tools and garage to change the wheel bearing.

I get the feeling he’s gonna want his money back or want me to pay for the car. I have no idea how he drove the car in the meantime. I actually had someone tell me the other day they say my car around town and the kid driving it was racing another Beretta.

My question is, do I have any legal binding to the car after it is sold? Once it is in his name he assumes all liabilities? If there is any legal action, would this hold up in court?

Just want to double check all the angles before I go and say something…

There’s nothing he can do but get pissy with you.

I’m going to agree with this. Unless he’s got a warranty signed by you, it’s his problem.

I agree…and it was fuckin $1,200…tell him to stfu

AS IS a beautiful thing.

except to the owner.

I bought my bravada kind in the same situation…Ive put a good $500 plus insp plus 2 alignments later…yeah not happy bc I was told it needed a wiper motor. lol YEah I was pissed. But thats what I get for buying a truck w/ no inspection and trusting someone I though was my friend.