Pro-Engineer

What is version is pretty popular in industry today? I’m self-taught in Pro-E 2000i and got pretty good in it, but I haven’t used it in a few years and might be looking at a job where I’ll have to get back into CAD and Pro-E is what they are using. How different are 2000 and Wildfire 4.0 (if that’s what most popular)? Should I be able to jump right in?

Also, does anyone have a copy they’d be willing to part with so I could load it up on my home computer and fiddle around?

2000i & WF4 are VERY different. I have a copy of 3.0 and 4.0 at home; but I don’t have a DVD burner… if you have a portable HD and you’d be willing to come over you can have them. But they are both available fully cracked via Torrent.

Wildfire 3.0 and 4.0 are most common right now. They went from the sub-menu command structure to a icon based software when they came out with Wildfire; so the interface is completely different. But like most CAD systems, if you know one, you should be able to figure out all the others. (Catia and UG being the exceptions…)

You are going to need a decent PC to run Wildfire through… It will work ok on lower systems, but you will bog the crap outta it without a good amount of RAM and a decent videocard.

I’ve never talked to anyone that uses Pro-E at their job. It’s always Solidworks or something else.

Which sucks since I learned Pro-E in school.

I used Pro/E for 5 years at my last position… Now it’s Solidworks at this place, and the next place I’m going is SW as well.

There are still companies out there that use Pro/E; but for most companies SW does the job they need it to do for a lower cost. Pro/E is much more powerful in it’s surfacing capabilities, and has some very good system-level design tools that SW doesn’t have. But most places either don’t need that or wouldn’t utilize it anyways.

What would be the minimum system requirements to run Wildfire? Maybe I can’t do it at home…