Soild works users

Who uses it? And for how long have you used it?

I do, i think 6-7 years now.

I do. Got 3k-4k hours of seat time with it. And another 10k hours of seat time with Pro/E.

About a year academically and a year professionally. Noobie I guess :wink:

RIT pushes pro/E so I am somewhat comfortable with it, I’ve attempted solid works once and felt lost (probably because of the first half of this statement). Which do you prefer and why?

oddly enough, ME uses pro-e, MET uses SolidWorks.

When I was at RIT it was Pro/E, Unigraphics, and Mechanical Desktop. They were JUST starting to roll out Solidworks.

I used to be a huge Pro/E guy, but I haven’t been a heavy user of Pro/E (which is now Creo) in about 3 years so I’m rusty at it. I’ve been using SW mainly since I left Astronics (Where Luke L still is); but I’ve moved on from being a CAD jockey and rarely do any serious design work anymore.

Both have their strengths/weaknesses. Kinda like comparing a new Mustang to a new Camaro. (Then you have the Bugatti out there of CATIA which is a whole different realm of design software)

The biggest thing I’ve learned when I was being a CAD jockey was just proper modeling skills; building parts in feature orders that make sense with the proper feature controls/references, making sure things were fully defined, constraining things properly, etc. If you get and understand these; they transfer between every design package. LOTS of designers and CAD operators do not understand this and create models that are NIGHTMARES to work with. A model should be easy to go back into and modify; the feature list should flow in how the part is made if it were machined (at least as best it can); it should be labeled properly and just make sense.

I ran Inventor for a year or so then got my CSWP back in 2005. Back then it was an 8 hour hands-on test to be certified, not this 3 hr online crap. Oh well. Get off my lawn!