Starting a small business

I am considering starting a small engineering related business but I have no experience with starting up a business. I noticed many people on NYspeed are small business minded/experienced and I was hoping to get some tips before really diving in.

Basic concept is that I would purchase some equipment and software that combined with my education and experience would give me some capabilities that no company currently has (in my area). I think I would be able to contact companies in my area that either:
-currently hire out of area companies and mail work back and forth
-are currently considering buying the hardware/software and hiring an engineer
-could do more/better business by using my services but are currently unaware of the capabilities, OR assume the expense to be to great, OR they cannot find someone local to do it.

So with that being the basic idea I am trying to consider where to start.
Do I start with a business plan and try to get a loan?
Do I start with getting a name and getting an accurate gauge of local interest?
Should I be contacting a lawyer?
Is there a preferred or pain free way to get a loan for upfront business expenses such as the hardware/software required to do the work?

As far as a business plan, I know nothing about them. How can I learn? Do you hire someone to do this?

And finally, I used to work for a very small company that did engineering and production in a completely different field. If I was able to get the owner on board and just work as sort of a “branch” of his company, would this be a good idea? Could it work?

I know there is a bit more reading and thinking than in a normal forum post here. thanks in advance for any advice.

I’d like to help but I’m busy running my business 7 days a week.

You should talk to the SBA. Sounds like you are looking to be a consultant. What field of engineering are you in?

Posted from tapatalk