HID Install

Well I got a nice set of HID’s from Spencerhids for christmas and im going to be attempting the install sometime this week. I’ll make sure to take plenty of pictures. Its my first time doing it but I’m pretty good with electrical wiring and all of that.

Heres the kit I have:

35w H11 low beam 6000k
25w 5202 Fogs 3000k

I have Spencers kits on my truck. Great product and even better customer service! Very easy instal. Hardest thing is finding good mounting points for the ballasts.

Yeh lol I have to almost take my bumper completely off for the install… GOING TO SUCK!

Welcome to the club. My Maxima was a breeze to install on, the M is a pain. Have to remove all my underbody splash shields.

As for the install, you’ll be fine. I personally never use the mounting brackets and just zip tie the ballasts to the various metal brackets in the engine compartment. A nice snug zip tie on top and bottom keeps that bad boy from moving a cm, so it’s fine without all that drilling, etc.

I will be swapping out my DDM kit for a Morimoto setup as soon as the second half of my order comes in (hopefully this week).

DDM kit ran me like $100 for top and bottom…the Morimoto supposedly is 20% more light (in actual testing) and better quality but costs $350 for the entire set. I’m an HID fanatic though…gotta have nice gearheadz :lol.

If you want to get serious, I’d probably mount the ballasts using rubber isolators. Or maybe it comes with them?

didnt open the box yet travis Im not quite sure, Im planning on heavy duty double sided tape plus zip ties. Ilya I hear ya this kit ran 270$

For my lows, I mounted my Ballasts on a plexi plate. The fogs are just double sided tape to the lower bumper and zip tied for extra hold. Ive gone thru 2 ballasts so far and he just asked to see the wires cut and ships me a new one free. No shipping cost covered or anything. Great service from Spencer.

How long have you had them?