2011 Baja SAE Build

Hey guys,

Not sure if anyone will be interested at all but I’m procrastinating like crazy right now trying to study for a midterm so I figure I’d start one of these build threads up here and try to update things as much as I can when I get time to share this build with you guys. I hope to some day do something similar for a 240 once I’m out of school.

Here’s a quick background summary of what this car’s all about:

• SAE sanctioned engineering collegiate design series competition called Baja SAE
  • Schools compete internationally in North America, as well as other places in the world
  • Baja SAE is the off-road racing buggy, Formula SAE is the formula-style race car

I’m in my last year at Waterloo mechanical engineering and I’ll be leading the overall build this year. Sold my 240 coupe last month so I can save some more $$ and also guarantee that I’ll spend more time on Baja. As part of my thesis project I’m specifically designing the chassis. There are 12 other 4th year designers on the team this year and we each design a subsystem and order material/parts before Christmas and begin building in the new year.

Some general rules:

• Every team is restricted to using a Briggs & Stratton Intek Model 20 300cc engine that puts out 10hp (I know, mad weak…)
  • No engine mods allowed (this comp is designed for suspension / chassis durability whereas Formula guys focus a lot of engine tuning)
  • Roll cage geometry and material selection is limited / constrained
  • Various safety requirements (including the ability to exit the car under 5 seconds with all safety gear in use)

Some facts about our competition this year:

• Hosted by the Caterpillar Corporation at their development center in Peoria, Illinois (ie. big ass construction / obstacle site)
  • Specialty event at this competition is the rock crawl
  • Other dynamic events include acceleration, hill climb, and land maneuverability