Aeromotive AFPR help!

I put my Aeromotive AFPR on my 1G tonight, and I’m having problems with it. I’m out of ideas. Boost leak tested it before I installed it, stock FPR works perfect.

First start up, bogged down and stalled. I upped the pressure to 45 or so, and it ran fine. Lowered the pressure down to 37-38, and the idle was fucked up. I adjusted the BISS, and got it to idle better (it’ll run now) but it stutters under driving.

It has an Autometer Sport Comp gauge on the regulator.

My vaccum dropped from 18-19 at idle to 15-16.

This is my first time using a AFPR, as I only had a 190 on my 2G. Car is mostly stock, minus an 3" exhaust, Supra TT pump, K&N, MBC.

Any ideas here? I’d like to get this thing running right by tonight.

Thanks,

what is stock fuel pressure setting.
did you start that one at stock???

Stock is 37.5 PSI, that’s why I was trying to get it between 37-38.

you sure that is the correct fuel pressure? i know for 2g’s the fuel pressure is about 3 bar(44-45psi)

other than the pressure being set wrong, that is really the only thing i can think of that would cause your car to run weird after installing the fpr.

Yes, I am sure that is correct. Defected AFPR?

how does the regulator raise fuel pressure, if it does? is it a 1-1 setup? so base fuel press is at say 40 psi. every lb of boost it would see, it would raise fp equallly. example, stock 40. at 10lbs of boost, fp should be 50. Im not sure if dsms use a rising rate fpr. need to know that. Myabe u got the wrong regulator.

No, it’s a 1:1 riser, and yes, it should work fine on my car.

oh yeah, as mentioned above, you are wrong on ur base fuel pressure. 2nd gen dsm’s run a base of 42-45 range, 1st gens run 36-38.

so up it between 42-45, and see what it does.

he said its a 1st gen so his fuel pressure isent that bad

look here, as i ate crow as i thought u had 2nd gen…

http://members.shaw.ca/costall/1000Q/answers-specifications.htm#Stockfuelpressure