Building a bannister/railing for staircase.. help

One of the studios where I work asked me to build them a railing for a staircase. I have never done this before and I’m having a hard time finding a tutorial or anything. I was hoping some members could give me some pointers/advice/etc.

It’s in an open space, not a home, but this pic illustrates almost exactly what the stairs I will be working on look like. I do have access to the underside as well.

http://www.nyspeed.com/showthread.php?56610-DIY-HOME-MOD-Stainless-Steel-Cable-Railings-(pics)&highlight=railings

does that even pass code?

i just did this at my house a few months back, if i remember i will grab some pics and post up how i did i tomorow.

Handrailings are probably one if the most difficult things we do. You need to do a fair amount of pre planning and I would not recommend it if you are not familiar with this type of work.

I just did a quick google search and found a ton of info. This link should give you some ideas of what is involved. This is quite a simple setup, you may have to make yours a bit less “rustic” as it is a commercial space.

A business hiring someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing to install a major safety device. What could go wrong? :stuck_out_tongue:

Just make sure it’s solid when you’re done. Railings are important, and they’re easy to do wrong so that forces don’t get transferred properly.

Thanks for the tips so far. I don’t have access to a lot of those tools… only basic hand and power tools. I don’t know if I’ll be able to do this after all I didn’t realize there was so much involved in doing this.

i think all you will need is a chop saw, angled nailer, wood glue (if it’s wood), screw gun, drill

all the posts are the same height , you just need the materials. building a staircase is a lot harder than building the rail

Some progress pics. It’s pretty sturdy and I will finish it tomorrow.