COD: World at War

I Started playing the multiplayer beta yesterday and I have to say that I like it better than ‘Modern Warfare’. And ‘Modern Warfare’ was my favorite game.

It uses the same engine and gameplay/setup as ‘modern warfare’, but WWII setting trumps modern weaponry. Only 3 maps are available and the level system is locked at 11 for the beta. The maps are excellent so far though, the weapons feel real and the gameplay is more fun than modern warfare for me.
There are some really neat perks this time too, along with other cool things like a type of tear gas for a secondary grenade.
After 3 consecutive kills you get a recon plane, just like ‘modern warfare’'s radar. After 5 kills you get a very effect artillery strike. The sound of the artillery coming in overhead at you can be very demoralizing. After 10 kills you get to “release the dogs.” I can say that nothing has frustrated me more in a video game and at the same time not make me mad than the dogs. Basically it releases a bunch of attack dogs that search out the enemy and rip their throat out. I lost count of how many times I was in a sniper position about to take a headshot and a german shepherd came out of nowhere and took a chunk out of my throat.

I will definitely be buying the game next month. Oh yeah, there are molotv cocktails too. :slight_smile:

just got the code for the beta as well, I’ll give it a try when I get home

:tup: sounds sweet

I played the beta as well and the gameplay seems great but I still don’t like the WW2 setting… I miss my modern guns and modern settings… Still a cool game but I hope it goes back to Modern for the next one when Infinity Ward takes back over.

Bah! Why did they go back to old warfare!? COD4 was the best one IMO.

how did you get in on the beta?

It sounds like it will be just as good as 4. A lot of people have been dogging it, but if they’re keeping perks and shit around, I have no problem with the ww2 setting.