Large plaster ceiling in rough shape. Options? It's large.

I never made a post here about it, but last month I finally purchased the warehouse I’ve been renting for 5+ years. It’s located on the lower west side of Buffalo, 16,000 sq ft and was built in 1926 as a Chrysler dealer. I’ve got a ton of stuff to clear out (was a BMW part-out business prior) and have some deals pending to move it all in bulk. Once this 7 car deal goes down (supposed to be by the end of the month) I can move our 12 cars to another portion of the place and tackle this ceiling.

I’m working on finding some scaffolding so I can get up there and check this out, but I’ve got a large (40x50’) ceiling that’s had its share of water damage over the years. I’m getting the roof repaired in spring, but would like to explore my options for this ceiling before taking down the partition wall pictured in the rear of the photo.

It appears to be plaster (though it looks more concrete-like) with wire mesh behind it. It is flaking in some areas, and pieces are falling down in others. I’ve been told it would be pretty tough to take down, which would’ve been my first choice. If that is the case, I presume I would find a way to cover it ($ considering the size). I’m working on borrowing some scaffolding to get up there and see how much of the deck & joists have been damaged, how much space is between that and the ceiling, and what it would be like to anchor a cover if going that route.

Any suggestions?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v727/Coldaccord/6DF5E02C-4B57-4AB0-9FA5-3661BB1C4655_zpsefl6cxyy.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v727/Coldaccord/B23278D9-4E5A-4603-9AF7-D5FBDA6AA850_zpswu4trztr.jpg