Mod a PS3?

Is there any way to mod a ps3 yet? Any chips out there? I don’t own a PS3 and Id imagine if there was a way to do it, it wouldn’t involve the slim yet. Just curious though. I think itd be pretty sweet to be able to save the games to the HD and not have to swap discs and shit all the time.

you can install linux on them but thats all ive heard of so far.

edit:
did some googleing and found this but its the first ive heard of it

just posted an interesting tidbit in the comment section here… This is my first time hearing about Belzar, which is supposedly a full-fledged direct boot modchip with quite the feature set:

* Works on all PS3 models
* Works on all PS3 regions (USA, JAP, PAL)
* Direct Boot of PS3 original, import, and backup (copied) games
* Direct Boot of PS2 original, import, and backup (copied) games
* Supports multi-region Blu-ray Movie Playback
* Supports multi-region DVD Movie Playback
* No config disc needed – it just works!
* Transparent stealth operation
* Integrates proven belzar Intelligent Code Modifying System
* No awkward USB interface – just insert DVD and play!
* Supports all up to date titles
* Ultra-low power consumption; does not interfere with normal PS3 operation
* Only 12 wires to solder
* No external PC/laptop needed
* Completely upgradeable firmware, via Belzars USB 2.0 interface

The lowdown… On July 1st the public release was apparently delayed due to a nasty bug that crashed the console using the latest firmware update. Furthermore, a couple days back it’s said the modchip was sent to 50 beta testers for final bug testing. No price or release date has been mentioned/confirmed.

Now, as far as I’m concerned, this is absolute pure speculation for the time being. That is until some concrete evidence surfaces proving otherwise. Anyone, beta testers, hello?!