My HTPC Build

Hey:

I finally decided to put this together after a long wait. Talk about being behind in terms of knowledge/technology. I had to do a lot of reading and I am still a newb. I am going to have this done in a few weeks. If this is greek to you, seriously, it’s worth some investigating. Here’s my build:

PHARCYDE-HTPC-1

Antec New Solution NSK2480 Black/Silver 0.8mm cold-rolled steel MicroATX Desktop Computer Case 380W PS ($114.99 + 16.47)

AMD Athlon X2 5000+ ($100)
GIGABYTE AM2 AMD 690V Micro ATX (GA-MA69GM-S2H) ($85)
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2800 (PC26400) ($35)

WD Caviar 500GB Sata/300 7200RPM 16MB Cache HD (WD5000AAKS) ($100)
WD Caviar 500GB Sata/300 7200RPM 16MB Cache HD (WD5000AAKS) ($100)

LITE-ON 12X DVD-ROM 32X CD-ROM SATA Blu-ray DVD-ROM (DH-4O1S-08) ($179.99)

Rosewill 802.11b/g PCI Wireless Card (RNX-G300E) ($14.99 + $5.29)
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 1178 ATSC/ClearQAM/NTSC TV Tuner PCI w/Remote $89.99 + $4.99

Microsoft Wireless Keyboard w/ Mouse (ZV7-00009) ($39.99 + 5.84)

MS Windows Vista x64 Media Center
PowerDVD Ultra
DVDShrink
HD Decrypter

so basically a 1k$ tower?

Tower? Look up that case. I didn’t care too much for amazing look. I want functionality > *

failboat on the vista. jk

looks like a good starting setup.

congrats

I absolutely LOVE Vista. I have had 0 problems with it and the new features and UI make it a great upgrade. I am loving it every minute. No driver issues at all.

hate vista many reasons, not worth listing

I had a ton issues with vista, but then again so did I with every predecessor.

My fav windows would have to be 95.

I use the 64 bit version which should make it less adaptive but, honesty, no problems at all. I use Media Center for the HTPC so I have no real choice as I want things to be very native.

My laptop came with Vista Extreme or whatever, i would rather have XP, Some of my tuning software for my car, i gotta use my old laptop because only xp supports it. but what can you do :sad