NASA or SCCA or Other? I just want to drive

I went to a free skip barber at new jersey motorsports track last week and had a blast. I liked driving around the track in a “time attack” style…even though it was super watered down (no passing allowed).

I am a complete novice and don’t care about points, trophies or bragging rights. Let’s face it, I have a scion…so those aren’t going to come my way anyway.
I just want to have fun on the track and meet similar people. What association would be the best for that? Oh, I am downstate NY area if that means anything.
Fun > Competition for me…not looking to trade paint.

Also, what am I looking at for cost? Tires, brake pads, fluids…I get that. But safety equipment? Looks like NASA wants you in a neck brace now.

Another…

click links in my signature…

Tires, buy used. Racers sell used tire that are no longer 100% competive but still are better than street tires and will still last 3 - 10 track days.
http://nyspeed.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20656&highlight=motherload

FWD car, you really only need to worry about fronts, rear brakes can be left stock. ~$200 a set, will last 3 - 5 track days.

Flush with good fluid.

Safety just a helmet and factory 3 point seat belt. NASA wants a neck brace spend $40 and get one.

Good stuff. I read your links. Thanks for taking the time to put it down.

I know you said “another”…but from your post it looks like you promote scca as the one to go with?

Also, the neckbrace looked to be several hundred dollars. hansa?

i’m in westchester, ny. are there any enthusiasts in this area?

A HANS device is a head and neck restraint that runs about $600 and up, a neck brace is a foam ring that fits under your helmet and runs $25 or so

… and does fuck-all for safety, its just a comfort thing from everything I’ve read.

But yeah, check out PDX (through SCCA), NASA, SCDA, or hook up with BMW or Porsche clubs for an event