Test-fit my new track wheels (e46 M3 "fronts")

Verdict: the 18x8 fronts fit GREAT on the rear of my Touring (sport-wagon for the non-BMW nerds of the world). I have a normal set of 2 fronts / 2 rears now but am working on either selling the rears or trade+cash for 4 fronts plus I bought 2 more fronts from a guy in VA tonight - so I’ll either end up w/ 4 or 8 (spares are always good) LOL - I wanted a “square” setup for the track to keep handling neutral and to allow me to rotate tires if needs be since unlike the Z I have ZERO experience / knowledge for setting this car up re: balance, tire wear, pressures, etc :frowning:

Looking forward to running 225- or 235-40-18 Sport Cups, Hoosiers, or similar on these wheels at the Glen this summer since I probably won’t get around to re-ringing the engine in my 350Z until fall. So the big comfy wagon gets to do a little track duty … I run Black w/ PCA and in Group 1 with BMW so this should be hilarious being out there w/ Spec Miatas, GT3s etc :roflpicard: Car is getting KW Variant 1s (good coilovers) in the spring as well as new bushings / ball joints / probably sways or at least upgraded end links and reinforcements but will otherwise be 100% stock (plus tires/brakes/fluid but that goes w/o saying for track use). At least w/ a Touring I have tons of trunk space for track crap HAHA

Anyway, pics (sorry, iPhone quality and the car’s dirty w/ road-salt, grr):

rear view (using 2x4s to simulate sidewall height of a tire + allow me to compress suspension)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3300/3219819414_1c8d95753c.jpg?v=1232690413

rear 3/4 view

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3447/3218968815_1ea2530429.jpg?v=1232690505

top view (they don’t stick out, you don’t wanna know how bad M3 “rears” would be LOL)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3405/3219819480_9ea780d5ae.jpg?v=0

hmmm nice… If I can stuff M3 rear rims in the front… I might have another set of fronts for ya