1.8T Intake Manifold design and construction.

This thread I will talk about how we are building the intake manifold for a 1.8T VW cylinder head. One of the many custom pieces going into the Jetta race car: http://shift518.com/showthread.php?t=20487

Starting with what pieces I know I wanted to run; AEB large port runners, 75MM throttle body I got to crunching some sketches in SolidWorks. Solid works is nice because it allows you to quickly design the manifold, see your ideas in 3D and catch any physical design flaws quickly, prior to eating up materials and time. Also included in SolidWorks is the Flow Simulation tool. This allows you to flow test the parts with many different variables, to get a good idea of how the manifold will act in the real world. You can animate it also, and with inputting the cam profiles, timing, RPM, etc. you can actually open and close the “lids” on each runner just as an intake valve would on a motor!

Now to start this, I am by no means an expert at Solid Works, mechanical engineering, or intake design. This is the first manifold I will produce from scratch, so i am way behind the 8ball here, but I have been researching this for a few months now, and reading ALOT of information about this entire process. If anyone has even gotten the chance to use Solid Works, it will take you a week to make a simple bolt! Lots of seat time is required to fully understand it. BUT with some friendly tips from friends (BoxerSix and Mafdark) I am getting the hang of it.

So lets get to the good stuff.

Started off by going shopping. Ross Machine Racing sells all kinds of stuff to build an intake manifold from scratch. I picked up some 1/2" flat stock for the plenum floor, a 2 foot section of their 5" D shaped plenum, some 1/2" stock for the TB plate and a D shaped end cap.