Air conditioning Q's inside

So my AC stopped working. The compressor doesn’t come on at all. I know it could be a myriad of problems ranging from fuses, to relays, to the compressor clutch but I’d be willing to bet I have a slow leak and reached the point where the 134a is too low and a pressure switch keeps the compressor clutch from engaging when I tell it to.

Lucky for me I’m an engineer at an industrial oxygen concentrator manufacturer so I have access to a myriad of pressure gauges. Anybody know what the high side and low side pressures in an automotive AC system should be? Can I measure them without the compressor running? Any other tips?

Yes you can measure without the compressor running.

What kinda car is it?

A lot of AC systems won’t come on if have low amounts of r134a…Because with less in the compressor would cycle more and burn out.

My '01 Jetta. I’m guessing it’s just low on 134a, but I want to get a positive diagnosis before I spend any money since it looks like this could potentially get deep quick. But hey, it’s a VW. Expensive repairs are few and far between… :ham:

Don’t buy any refridgerant until you see if there is pressure in the system.

If there is, there is probably not a leak (at least not a huge one). If you are impatient like me, I’d see if there was pressure, fill it up and call it a day.

But if you were smart, you’d check the pressure, wait a couple of days, and check the pressure again to see if it went down.

Ball park numbers for R134a…

High side: 175psi
Low side: cycle between 30-45 psi (depending how good the compressor is)

Keep in mind these are just ball park! Look them up in the service manual for your car. If your high side pressure is low (usually around 75-100 psi) the pressure switch will not cycle the compressor so it avoids damaging itself.