Anti-Lock light.

My winter beater is a 1997 buick century. For the past two years the Anti-Lock light has been on. Took it to a shop, left it for two weeks, they said battery acid had corroded the brak controller board (?) $1000 and 3 months later the light comes back on. So I mess with it a little bit, change the fuse (even though the fuse didnt look busted) light goes out.

FFW to the snow storm, I brake on ice, feel the anti lock kick in, BAM, light comes back on and stays on again.

This isnt a real high priority as im a cautious driver in snow, and have never had a problem without anti-lock. But inspection is comin up soon and it would be nice to try and fix the problem.

Any suggestions appreciated.

wheel bearings? the connectors the go into the hub? check those… btw abs isnt mandatory on the inspection i dont think, and i like my car w/o better in the winter fwiw

Check the AUX post. They had a copper nut on there holding down the power cable. This often comes loose and will cause the ABS light to go on. I duno why it does this, but it does. Just something to check out.

the ABS sensors on GM FWD cars suck…u might need to replace a wheel bearing…but if the bearing isnt bad need to get it scanned to see which sensor it COULD be

ABS is NOT part of the NYS inspection.

AUX post? not sure what you mean by that.

more detail pls

The auxiliary post is to the right of the air box, between the cruise control unit and the washer fluid. It has the red cap on it. Take that cap off, and youll see the copper nut Im talking about.

http://www.freewebs.com/3100cutlass/Picture%20027.jpg

aux post: while a good suggestion that would have probably been overlooked, chances are much better that the hub is shot, or the connection on the wheel side sensor is corroded. The computer that controls them almost never goes bad, but gm hubs lick my nuts.