Calling Engineers (turbo idea)

My idea/theory is based off of freewheel on a bike. On a bike, if the wheels can travel faster then the person pedaling a bike, they will. But when they can’t the person will pedal the bike.

My idea is to modify the turbos center section and place a freewheel there. Now add a belt driven from the motor. The engine will drive the turbo at lower RPM’s till the turbo can spin fast enough to generate boost on its own. Also, once the turbo takes over by itself, the engine won’t be under load because it won’t be driving the turbo.

There may need to be gear ratios to get the engine to drive the turbo allowing the boost in the lower RPM’s.

Is there a downside to my idea? I can’t find one but I’m not an engineer.

like a clutch unit? similar to the ones on an A/C unit.

I don’t know how to explain it better then like the freewheel on a bike. Its not something you would turn on and off.

Mercedes benz already has a clutched supercharger, and many others have done twin charging, your view is neither new nor innovative.

you mean like a clutch … ie: the car in Mad Max … had a roots type twin screw with a clutch on the snout pulley

QFT

yes-

belt driven compressor wheels and exhaust driven compressor wheels are not the same.

turbos spin at 100k rpm, cenfrif. superchargers spin at a MUCH lower speed

also, the massive extra weight of parts needed on the shaft in the turbo, and the fact that the center section gets hot enough to coke the oil, so a belt definantly wont live in there

plus your realy going to limit turbo placement

and the sideload of the belt will require different (larger and heavier) bearings because the shaft will no longer float-to-center on the tiny bearings turbos have

your basily trying to twincharge an engine, but your combining 2 types of forced induction that cant be combined

somebody get the pic of the car in Mad Max

Hotrodkid covered the bases.

The turbine impeller needs to be strong and LIGHT.