Computer Issues F*CK

So as some of you may know I built a computer the other day.
No surprise that I am having issues with it right now.

Here is my set up

AMD Athlon 64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo 4 F Motherboard
Leadtek GeForce 6600 256mb video card
1GB Crucial DDR400 RAM
200GB Maxtor SATA HD
Antec TruePower 430watt PSU
LiteOn DVD burner

I cannot play Far Cry even on the lowest settings without it locking up.
I have no idea what the problem is. I loaded all the newest platform and videocard drivers from nVidia and the fucker still doesn’t work right.

Also, sometime while I am just doing standard shit like Internet Explorer it will lock up.

I am getting really pissed.

Any ideas???

maybe cooling issues with your video card…

check your event log… maybe its the os

Event log? Hmmm

Ok I’m a newb to this whole computer building thing. Where is that?

go to the Leadtek site and check all the FAQs and furums.

It may be a video or video memory usage settings problem in the motherboard setup.
Usually they have you disable shadowing and other such shit in the bios setup.

Run memtest86.
doit.
you may have a bad stick of ram and then your compy pretty much fucks you over whenever it damn well pleases.
also make sure things are not getting hothothot.

http://www.memtest86.com/

right click my computer go to manage… click on event viewer… look for the red icons… those are bad :slight_smile:

I looked at memtest86 before but I was unclear as to how to use it.

I don’t think heat is my issue. I checked in the BIOS H/W monitor and the highest temps I have seen are 94*F

Got it. Yup lots o’ red.

what viewer are they under… read the errors… thats your problem,

Mostly system, but there are some under application.

Under system I see

Service Control Manager
DCOM
sfsync02

as the sources.

Under application it just says “Application error”

did you go to windoes update yet?