PC Hardware experts and PC builders, little help? *long*

This is all for a friend, for the record. He had a crap machine about 5 or 6 years old, and took the leap to try and put together his own after buying up all the parts. He’s never done it before, total novice. Here’s the email he sent me, since I have no idea, and I know there are some people on here that know their stuff. If anyone takes the time to give me an idea to pass along i’d really appreciate it.

"I’ve gotten a really weird graphical error. It happens whenever I play something graphically intensive (ie a video game ^^). Mostly I’ve been playing WoW, so that’s where all my screen shots are from. But I’ve also gotten it in Half Life 2, and Guild Wars. It’s really bizarre, and happens on max, min, and the spectrum inbetween the two extremes. If i change a setting (or press screenshot, or minimize the game and then maximize it back), the problem goes away for a few seconds, and then comes back. In WoW i’ve noticed that if I look at the sky, I can stave off some of the problem, but not fully. I was playing WoW in windowed mode for awhile and that helped. But now it happens in both. And I’ve also noticed that if I spend a bunch of time inside a building, it seems that I don’t get the problem. If I am outside or leave the building too soon, I get the problem. A lot of times I’ll have the problem, then go to an instance (an indoor setting), and then not have the problem for the rest of the time I’m on. Also it doesn’t always seem to do it at a certain point. Sometimes I’ll boot up my machine, log in, and play with no problems, othertimes it’s there as soon as I log in. Conversely, I can play for 4 hours with no problem, leave my machine on overnight, log in and have problems, or I could not have them.