DirecTV switching service from SD to HD. Questions...

I’m confused as all hell looking at the website. I have just a plain old R15 SD DirecTV DVR receiver. This is my first year of service with them and it ends in 30 days.

I am about to buy a nice new shiny HD TV and want service to boot.

Looking at the DirecTV website it seems they want me to pay $200 for their HD DVR box? And then pay $10/mo. for service? I must be missing something. With Time Warner I went to the store and said “I want DVR, heres my old box.” and they handed me a nice new DVR box and I had to pay $5/mo. extra for DVR lease.

Someone please explain? If they really expect me to pay $200, can I just let me term lapse and cancel with them only to renew and start over again on contract to get the equipment for free?

Jeff

I always thought with DirecTV you had to buy the cable box, if not they ‘should’ allow you to just trade it in like TWC, if not that sucks.

I’m curious if I can cancel on the 24th and then open a “new” account on the 25th to get the new equipment and a 3-month 24.99 start up cost :stuck_out_tongue: