Engineers: Drives & Motor Control Training

Story:
I gave my resignation to my company, and declined their counter offer. The CEO got on the phone and made me an offer that I could not walk away from. It is however based on a two year plan to have me into a much better and much more lucrative position. My company is going to be providing me with tons of training and allowing me to attend all of the Allen Bradley classes and seminars that we have on Drives, PLC’s, Motor Control, MCC’s etc… They are priming me to take an industrial sales / engineering position. I have no engineering background, but I have the aptitude to perform very well in that type of position.

What I need:
I do not want to just take their training and move forward. It will be much better for me if before I even step foot in the class room I am decently adept at the applications. Aside from going back to college and fighting out an engineering degree on my limited time schedule, what other avenues do you use, or have seen used to gain loads of knowledge on these topics? I am not trying to be a full fledged EE, but I have to have the technical capability to spec the jobs, recognize flaws / cause of failure, and to really not look like a dumb ass sales man that doesn’t know his product and it’s applications.

Any links, or recommended reading that you can provide would be useful.

I took an allen bradley PLC class and learned a little bit… i had no prior knowledge going into it.

A degree does not mean you are any good at electronics or engineering.

http://forums.mrplc.com/index.php?autocom=downloads&showfile=156
“Automated manufacturing systems with PLC’s”

There are wiki’s for damn near everything these days.
Specsmanship can be a real PITA for equipment. It seems as though most EOM’s choose their own way of giving the tech data.