Exhaust advice needed!

Hey guys,

I’m really new to all this but I want to get started right away. I have a stock, stripped 92 F/B with 261XXXKMs on it which I’m going to drive to school over the winter(4KMs a day). I am planning on doing a swap probably a CA18DET or a SR20DET over the winter so I can drive her with her new heart in spring. However I was wondering could I buy a universal type N1 muffler just the muffler, take off the N/A muffler hook it up to my current stock piping (which is what diametre in size again?) and then later on down the road take it off and hook it up to the exaust system of my new engine.

Also I somewhere read on the boards that you can replace the cat with a test pipe, drive it “undercover” and easily hook the cat back up when it’s time for inspections. Is this true and would you guys recommend it? Do you have any links to places where I could buy a test pipe and all the necessitees from?

I would like a more aggressive sound, maybe some easy increase in PS and I am going for the rawr kind of car(no interior, no electronics just sound, performance and feeling).

p.s. I don’t care how loud it is or if I will get some more attention from the police

any input you guys have on this would be greatly appreciated =]

~mark

you could probably get away with the cat and dont buy just a muffler that does nothing but ad sound wait till you do a motor swap and replace the hole exhuast with a performance one who needs cat`s anyways after 3grand they sound like shit

If you get a cat-back system then there is no need to replace it when you do a swap, so I’d go with that.

I would recommend getting a high-flow cat instead of a test pipe. You will not notice any considerable difference between that and a high-flow on most setups.

There is really no point in buying just a muffler as it really does nothing for you other than make you look and sound like a complete tool.

OK,