How did everyone learn how to work on cars?

Hey guys, I’m new at this whole tuning thing, and I want to learn as much as I can about working on cars. Maybe a few of you could just post how you learned to work on cars, be it a technical school, family member, friend, website, ? Please help me out here I’m tired of not knowing how to do simple stuff! I greatly appreciate anyone who is kind enough to help me out!

Self taught. Learned on smaller motors first. Dirt bikes, ect… just experimenting. You’ll never learn shit from a book

not always true, yes doing it is better than reading it, but I stole a Helms manual…well barrowed off of a friend with intent of not giving it back :slight_smile: that thing is a Bible to me. Best thing i did was found a well known local mechanic and a bunch of buddies that were really in to cars and there was a lot to learn from them.

So are all Helm’s manuals vehicle specific? There isn’t just one omnipotent Helm’s manual right? LOL I know alot of people are probably going “He doesn’t know what a helms manual is?!?!” I know I’m such a noob. :stick: I’m gonna be the guy, poking you with a stick, and asking alot of questions, but only for a little while. I just hate being the annoying guy who doesn’t know what he’s talking about!

I owned a bunch of piece of shit cars

Learn a good trade yourself. I learned bodywork. So I do body work for J-tec and he does all my mechinical crap. Don’t try to work on cars unless its intake header exhaust or simple crap like that. It blows!!!

i bought an lt1, lol

and spark plug changes are “easy maintainance”… ha!

Learned off people is the best way to do it.
I started learning things from my dad, and then experimenting on my own car(bad idea) from a haynes manual doing whatever I saw fit, and then went to school at UTI for about a year and learned everything I wanted to from there.

Another way I learned a lot was being a porter at a smaller car shop.