LT1 Tuning

My dad has gifted me his 1994 Camaro Z/28 that has a few ignition issues. Ignition issues aside the car has some mystery mods like high flow heads, larger fuel injectors, cold air intake and long tube headers. Moral of the story is that it runs very rich and i think it needs to be tuned.

I know there is tuning software out there for the LT1 but i’m completely new to tuning in general. Anyone local with some knowledge they would be willing to share would be greatly appreciated.

@LZ1 would probably know.

I used a guy named Solomon to tune mine. He’s from lt1pcmtuning if you google it. Did a street tune with me for a week until it was just right.

I take it you email him your datalogs and he changes the tune based off that? That is interesting.

Only problem I could see is that I don’t know what injectors are in it. Might have to pop one out and see if anything is marked on them.

You can either mail your pcm out to that Solomon guy or pcmforless and wait a week or so to get it back. Or you can simply buy another computer from them with a tune already loaded onto it, they usually have extra computers. I had my car tuned locally by my friend Paul, but I’ve lost touch with him. You could also purchase the tuning software yourself and get the laptop-obd/port cable. Take it to any competent tuner and they should be able to figure it out. A lot of the tables are the same. The only issue with LT1 computers is that they take 10 minutes to load a tune, and if anything happens during the “load” of the tune, the cars pcm is toast.

Are there any markings on the heads?