Machine work to my crankshaft....

I finally got my crankshaft back from the place that knife-edged it.
Here are the results.The 2nd pic is what it started at before it was sent

very cool - always wondered what that looked like in the end when it’s done :tup:

^^ me too.

How does that work though? It looks like they just shave the counterweights down and that’s it. Doesn’t that throw make things off balance? Or does it not matter.

sorry, i’ve never done any bottom-end work before…

its designed to reduce both weight, and drag, as the crank hits the oil it will slam into it, kinfe edgeing allows the crank to cut through the oil,minimizing loss.

Nice to see you got it done brent :tup:

how much that run ya, and whered ya get it done?

[quote=“93z24,post:3,topic:25579"”]

^^ me too.

How does that work though? It looks like they just shave the counterweights down and that’s it. Doesn’t that throw make things off balance? Or does it not matter.

sorry, i’ve never done any bottom-end work before…

[/quote]

It gets rebalanced in the end

[quote=“ImportMuscle,post:4,topic:25579"”]

its designed to reduce both weight, and drag, as the crank hits the oil it will slam into it, kinfe edgeing allows the crank to cut through the oil,minimizing loss.

Nice to see you got it done brent :tup:

how much that run ya, and whered ya get it done?

[/quote]

castillos crankshaft service in cali.They were featured in turbo magazine not to long ago.After shipping both ways it cost 560.

What was the starting weight?

did they do anything to the tapers on the rod journals? or just shaved the counterweights

?

dont put it on that rough carpet!!! keep it in plastic after that polish!

looks good though

Looks nice, should rev up real quick now too.
But why do the bearing journals all look like they have all lost their polish?