Nissan Consult

Hey guys,

I just picked up a Nissan Consult to serial cable. I’ve never used one before, and I can’t seem to get it to connect with the DataScan software. There were no instructions with the cable. Can anyone give me any insight on how to connect this thing?

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks alot.

Anyone? :frowning: I’ve tried several softwares. I can’t get any of them to connect.

hah… jake you need to respond to my msn msgs, i have this from few months back… do you have the usb or serial port version? You need to select the right COM port in the application.

Also datascan you need a legit license for the full features. One of the days im in oakville i can transfer over all the apps i have on my ghetto p2 laptop to your thing and you can fiddle with them. I have the USB version.

Still no luck… Someones got to have used one of these before. Ive tried three different PC’s both using serial, and usb adapters. I’ve tried multiple software. I am using the right COM port. I’ve even returned the unit for another one. There must be something I’m doing wrong. The softwares are saying they can’t connect of find the ECU. I’m beginning to wonder if theres something wrong with the car.

Heres the cable I bought:
http://usih.merchantrunglobal.com/ImageHosting/ViewImage.aspx?GlobalID=1004&MerchantID=10705&ImageID=356&DisplaySize=-1

Theres an LED indicator on face of the unit. I’m not sure when it’s supposed to light up, or what its purpose is. Doesn’t light up at all whether it’s plugged into the car with ignition on, or to a computer. Does anyone know what its for? I would assume it lights up when it’s connected.

hmm well mine was just plug and play and chosing com port. All I did was plug in one end to consult and other to usb on laptop. You had to install a driver though… which came on the cd. Then the usb port was detected as a serial port and ud pick the com port which was like com6 or something cant recall now honestly.