Question on notebook RAM

I have a dell latitiude C640 notebook that i bought for school. a couple of weeks agoit over heated and crashed. I reformatted and re-installed windows and it seemed to work ok except that occasionally the center panel on the bottom of it gets really hot and it shuts down and won’t restart until it cools down.

i popped that panel off and it’s where the ram is housed. Is there a separate cooling system for the ram that may have quit on me? Is there anything i can do without have to spend an assload, i mean i’m a poor college student and i cant afford a new laptop or i would. Any ideas?

go to google, search for memtest+

download the floppy drive image/creator. Run memtest, by booting off of the floppy.

If you have any RED, your memory has errors. Run the test overnight/at least 3 passes.

There is no extra cooling for the RAM in that laptop. Is the laptop dusty inside? You may just need to blow out the heatsink for the processor. Laptop heat issues are common with older laptops like that, especially if there is dust stopping the heat from escaping.

But, its also good to test the RAM as well. It definitely is heat related. Do both

two options for cooling…

just dunk it in… and its cool

2)laptop cooler

also dells are notorious for being hot…

more options

1. speedswitch XP (google it) run the processor at half speed when its getting warm.

2. clearing out the dust is easy with a dell, and the fan/heatsink/everythingmassofdellcheapness is allllllways getting clogged…where the power buttons are… take a knife and pry that small panel off, then with a small screw driver there are 3 or 4 screws pull off the keyboard don’t yank… (there is a connector the mobo there) put keyboard in safe place, take out screw under the keyboard remove metal piece. and YAY!! you can see the fan (some dells you can take out the three screws and the fan comes out)… where as others you have to pull the case apart which is simple too :slight_smile: