School me on stopping...

so i bought this nice new pair of mission hockey roller blades from derek (brd5oh)… i have been playing ice hockey like 2x per week for about 8 months now. i am a pretty good skater, given my inexperience.

the only problem is, i cant stop on roller blades! i am obviously used to stopping on ice skates, not roller blades. what is the proper technique for stopping on roller blades???

im retarded :bloated:

I’ve always turned my right foot to drag the wheels sideways to slow down slowly, perpendicular to my left foot. For a fast stop I would hop a bit and spin my left foot so it was going backwards and simultaneously turn my right foot perpendicular but in the direction I’m going and put it into the ground to stop. It’s kinda like a hockey stop but with only my right foot while the left rolls backwards. Really hard to explain, sorry lol.

hahahaha

or you could do this, but I’d be on my ass

and here’s how i stop, yes i even play this music in my head when i do it lol

as retarded as this sounds, i still stop better on roller blades than ice skates :bloated: i played roller for years before i went to ice… i noticed when i first started playing ice that whenever my instinct was to stop when i was on roller blades, i would end up almost doing a 180 instead… so with that being said its definitely a different “motion” like stated above, which is hard to explain by typing lol

edit after watching those videos, thats definitely not how i stop hahaha feet the same direction etc like an ice hockey stop, but i guess you could say the leading foot is a bit further away than the trailing one as opposed to ice where they are right on top of eachother… again hard to explain on here!

thats pretty much how it ends up going down most of the time in quick situations