Taking a car off the road for winter

I did a quick search for this, but couldnt find anything. Wondering if anyone can give me a few tips/point me in the right direction.

I just bought a winter car, and Im going to be taking my current vehicle off the road for winter. I was planning on calling my insurance company and switching my policy to the winter car in a week or so.

Ive heard that the insurance company will notify the dmv when a car becomes uninsured, which is fine, since it wont be on the road at all anymore. But will my registration get revoked? Im new to New York and dont know their policies on such a thing. In California you could register a car as a temporary non-op until you wanted it back on the road.

If the registration does get pulled, do I have to re-register, and re-pay all over again come spring? Is there a way to just temporarily take the car off the road for winter?

I figured there would be a number of people here who have separate winter and summer vehicles, so any advice/details on your experience would help.

Thanks in advance.

Bob

Just transfer the tags between the vehicles. I used to switch between summer/winter cars and just rotated the same plate. It was just like a fifteen dollar fee or something like that I’m sure it’s more now.

i switch vehicles allll the time.
go to dmv, pay for tax title and transfer.

if the winter vehicles title is already in your name, itll be dirt cheap, cost me ten bucks to transfer my plates from one jeep to another.

I guess thats where I was getting confused. In California you register the car, but in NY your register yourself?

So I can just keep the registration for me to drive, and swap the car on file that I’ll be driving? If that’s correct, I think I get it.