TDI BUDDIES / Help Please

My girlfriend’s father has a mk4 jetta tdi, auto.
From what I can tell (Im not a professional), its going to need a new torque convertor.

Hesitation, rough shifting, sometimes not upshifting, the whole deal…
Still driveable, but barely, so now it sits :frowning:

I saw a OE-Replacement (SACHS) on eBay that seemed like a decent deal $250shipped.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/VW-Torque-Convertor-SACHS-Beetle-Jetta-NEW-OEM-Part-_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQfitsZSubmodelQ3aTDIQQhashZitem19c2bccb95QQitemZ110641335189QQptZMotorsQ5fCarQ5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

But since I’m only 98% sure that the t/c is the issue, I figure I should consult the local tdi-pros.

Any help on this topic, such as other things to check, sites to find t/c’s for a fair price,
anything that pertains to the notorious autotragic-fail of 160,000miles :lol

:number1 Thanks PeteR, Brett, Wayne, Nick, B/Ryan, and even you VOTVOT!!

Wanna sell it?

I wish I was of help here but I don’t know much. Petar will probably know. I do know that those transmissions are troublesome though esp with all the torkz.

Manual swap :slight_smile:

I already tried buying it from him lol
he loves the thing more than his bike haha…
its white too :slight_smile: hes just looking to fix it and probably run it to 300k+

After hearing Pete talk of how much of a task it is to do,
that option is out of the question. Id give it a shot if it were mine though :number1

Pete is a pansy, lol. I’m sure its not bad, just collecting all the necessary parts for the swap. If it were mine, I’d swap it too.

HOLY SHIT, he does exist !
:bowdown:bowdown:bowdown:bowdown:bowdown:bowdown

Well I know he can get put the new t/c IN, but finding one and know what part#
to search is really the motive of this thread

Have you tried vwvortex or tdiclub?

Tranny is dead. I have all the parts and then some to swap to 5spd… I have a whole parts car… You can find a used auto trans on tdi club from free to 600~.