Web Developers etc...

So i have now been tasked with developing my company’s intranet web site, we have one already that no one has ever used…

i’m new with any html crap, using frontpage to design it, also using templates as well

obv i need to add documents, newsletters etc which is easy, what can i do to jazz it up?

i want to add for example a stock quote for the co. and maybe a quick weather blurb for each of our 4 offices…

what does YOUR company intranet have thats helpfull? usefull?

help me out

Sharepoint Portal.

http://www.microsoft.com/sharepoint/default.mspx

cliffs?

If you’re asking for cliffs, Sharepoint is not for you.

looks like more of a colabrative workflow/management tool, which we already have, this is really just a one stop source for company info and updates, etc

as for content, here is my company’s site for example:

top left - logo
top middle - box that drops down with “my links” that i can store favorites in
top right - stock quote, stock activity (up/down), clock, timezone

top bar = tabs: company home, hr/personal, workplace resources, internal group (ie, mine says Investment Bank)
right side of tab bar = employee directory search box, intranet search box, feedback link, site map link

left side links = group homepage, group wide resources, groupwide career center, resources & tools, other group sites, org charts, policies, partner sites

middle = group name header, group news box, business highlights and deals section, company in the news section

right = key resources quicklinks, group wide box (currently showing second quarter results and next management meeting info), group wide career options job (shownig links to rites of passage and development, recruitign, pay, benefits, more), 2 graphics for urgent messages (1 is the mid year update for europe happning july 26 and 1 is a link to quarterly earnings)