welder question (not sure where to post this)

not sure where to post this…but welders are associated with auto’s obviously lol.

What decent gasless welders are out there? are craftsmen any good? i’m looking for a mig to learn on…pretty much i just want to make charge piping and possibly tac together a turbo manifold and then have it stick welded…any input would be appreciated…thanks!

welds without shielding gas will be weaker and look shittier than welds with shielding gas. but the welder i have would be great for you to learn on. its the lincoln weldpak 110

i dont like gasless welding to begin with, but thats my opinion. im a qualified welder, and have been for little more than 2 years, and again in my opinion, i dont think you should stick weld a manifold. yes, it will hold and seal, but it will look like crap if you dont have enough experiance with arc welding. tig is the way to go on a manifold.

the craftsman gasless is ok, if you just want to learn some of the basics. give it a shot.

[quote=“cky89,post:2,topic:39542"”]

welds without shielding gas will be weaker and look shittier than welds with shielding gas. but the welder i have would be great for you to learn on. its the lincoln weldpak 110

[/quote]

is that a gas welder? ive welded before…i borrowed a generic one from a guy a work with when i was building my civic…i was able to make a good seal but my welds didnt look that good lol.

[quote=“chickenfingerfanny,post:3,topic:39542"”]

i dont like gasless welding to begin with, but thats my opinion. im a qualified welder, and have been for little more than 2 years, and again in my opinion, i dont think you should stick weld a manifold. yes, it will hold and seal, but it will look like crap if you dont have enough experiance with arc welding. tig is the way to go on a manifold.

the craftsman gasless is ok, if you just want to learn some of the basics. give it a shot.

[/quote]