Wendy Correctional

I am in the process of taking a job in the Infirmary at Wendy Correctional. Does anyone know anyone who works anywhere in the prison or that has worked there?

My current boss keeps telling me that the job is not worth the increased pay and benefits because of the dangers. After hearing this from more than just a few people it’s really starting to weigh on my mind whether or not I should actually take the job.

Thoughts? Discussion?

How are the insurance benefits? How much of a pay increase are we talking here? 10%? 20%?

Let’s face it, you could get shanked and possibly die. The possibilities are probably low but it still could happen. Do you have a family that relies on you? All those things you have to consider.

I was a contractor for the county. We managed the network and the network went into the prisons therefore we had to go there. It was a shitty scene. Some of the guards loved it and talked down to all the prisoners. I saw it as shitty. Ive seen people in booking take shits on floors, throw semen and piss through the bars at the guards, talked shit to, and even been attacked. Getting shanked and dying isn’t really a huge issue in county prisons from my expierence however, getting AIDS or other diseases from prisoners throwing body fluids is. One lady was with us had a inmate jerk off in front of her and throw his semen at her.

My ex girlfriends dad has been a prison guard at Attica for years too and its odd hours and shit work environment. With any prison, you are dealing with the scum of the earth who basically do not give a fuck about you or what happens to you. Some cases being in prison is the best life they are going to see so if something happens to you, whatever.

I think its a shit job but ultimately, if you like working there then its for you.

i would take the current department out to lunch and ask them how it really is…