Who runs OSX86 nativly on their PC?

Anyone? I’m having a few issues installing leopard. Had 10.4 and 10.5 running in a VM, and 10.4 installed natively… but having problems with 10.5.

I do

what is your setup?

DFI Bloodiron P35-T2RL (supposed to work OOTB)
Core2Quad Q6600
8800 GT 512mb
2 IDE DVD-RW’s
1 SATA Blueray/dvd rw
1 SATA WD Caviar 300Gb HDD (for OS)

everything else is onboard or unplugged.

I got it installed last night, but when I tried booting into OS 10.5, it would get to a point and give me the “waiting for root device” error over and over again.

The release I used was iatkos 10.5.4 (for intel chipsets). I was just reading about PC EFI and don’t think it was ever installed (at least not that it told me). Do I need this? Or is it just a different way of installing it?

I gotta admit that I’m a super noob to apple file systems, so this is making me want to bash my skull in with a hammer

would I be better with Kalway or a vanilla leopard install DVD? (or Jas? Pretty sure the Tiger DVD is a Jas disc)

I used Kalway 10.5.2, and I highly recommend it.

just click customize when it comes to that point in the install, and choose any patches you might need or want.

I still have the ISO too.

hmmm… you live in the area? or nc?

So I assume it was pretty straight forward? What type of HDD are you using? IDE?

sata hard drive
sata dvd burner
intel 950 GMA graphics
pentium D
ASRock Mobo(forgot model)

I built it to be mac compatible

It was VERY straight forward. Just click on the customize button. There are sound and graphics patches there. Although, you MIGHT have issues with 4 cores. Might need a custom boot up to start only 2 cores. That is the only issue I would forsee.

awesome man, thanks for the help. I’ll try that distro

I’ll post back later (hopefully from osx lol)

Do you dual boot into vista/xp? I have a seperate physical drive for xp/vista that I was just going to swap the sata cable to boot, but if there is an easier way, lmk.

+karma