Wrongful termination at a job

I’ve been working at TGI Fridays for about two years and about 2-3 weeks ago I was fired.

I held ten different job descriptions there, but mainly I was a server, line cook, and a steward. Now being our steward, I ordered all the product, checked in all the boxes that came in, and put everything away in the freezer and cooler. I was fired because a week prior to my termination I checked in a box that I thought was there. I would have about 300 boxes averaging 30lbs a piece in my freezer and cooler, and with so much volume I recognized the products by the box, since it was impossible to look for each and every label on the boxes and open every box. Now I thought a certain box was a box of doughnuts when it was actually a box of cheese. I offered to pay for the missing box which held a value of $30 but my general manager said no. The week before that I ordered two cases of whipped cream which had a value of $30 but I was given two boxes of colby cheese picked as whipped cream that holds a $190 value, so I made my store $160 in food cost.

My general manager told me that I wasn’t doing my job at all, and didn’t check anything in because I made one mistake in my two years there.