Computer Spoof???

Thinking about throwing a set 4.11’s (3.42’s now) into my 98 bird til the camaro is done. I’m not worried about the speedometer being off. But I AM worried about the ABS wreaking havoc. I was thinking about just pulling the wire off at the diff. No signal, No problem. Right? Anybody know if this will work? I checked on reflashing the ECM and really don’t feel like forking out the two hundred cabbage for it. I’m cheap.

why not just pull the fuse on the ABS?

i believe the abs goes off of the abs sensor that is right at the brake disc. so changing the gears wont actually change the ratio that reads. if it goes of the speedo then you are screwed just pull the fuse. but more then likely it reads revs of the axle right at the brakes and they will still be the same as the front tires rotating.

Didn’t think of popping the fuse. I’m new to this computer stuff. I’ll try it out and see what happens.

Any ABS I’ve ever seen reads right off of the wheel speed sensor. ABS shouldn’t do anything at all unless the system detects braking input and the wheel locking up, which it should be able to detect in the same way no matter what gears you are running. It’s the reason you can change wheel size on most cars and, even if the speedo is off, the ABS still works. I wouldn’t bother modifying anything until you’ve tried the new gears.

how the fuck could the ABS work off of the speedo anyways? The speedo only measures one axle… :hsugh:

he could have 3 channel abs, which goes off the rear differential.

if your car didn’t come with traction control, you have a 3 channel abs system.

if your car does have traction control, you have a 4 channel abs system, with a sensor on each wheel.

either way, it will not throw an abs light

speedo will be off… could just get a tune and get rid of a lot of the un needed crap and calibrate the speedo.