89-91 sc swap to 96 stang HELP!

I have a chance at either an 89 ford thunderbird sc manual with 80k or 91 thunderbird sc auto 121k. I have a 96 3.8 auto. I have the dual exhaust from a 95 stang, 8.8 rear from the 95 as well loaded with 4.10’s, and a 5-speed ( minus the clutch kit ) from a 3.8 stang that I was planning on bolting up to my car. Im asking for advice on what I should do?? Go with the 89 and swap the engine and trans? ( get a clutch kit? ) or Go with the 91 and swap just the engine and get the clutch kit for the 5-speed i have now and put that in??? Will the 5-speed i have fit the sc engine? There both 3.8 ford… or is the 5-speed from the 89 a better 5-speed? What should I do or would be the best with cost in mind and time… Im not a mechanic so I will have to take it to a shop for the work ( unless someone on here could help a lil ) I live in Buffalo NY. Please any advise would be appreciated.

the 5 speed and rear from the stang will not fit in that body style t bird

Roots did this swap on his 94-95(Might be hazy on the year) might want to see if he could be helpful. However, the effort vs. end result might be a bit disappointing.

honestly, you’re way better off going with a 302 than a 3.8sc if you even plan on modifying it any further.

The aftermarket for the supercoupes is next to non-existent and what is out there is some serious $$$ for minimal gains. Back when I was into tbirds there was a member that sank an ungodly amount of money into his car only to run mid-high 11’s.

If you want to just do it to be different, than go for it. Nothing beats the sound of a blower winding up. The transmissions are totally different too. The 5 speed from the sc’s are a m5r2 mazda trans and wont fit AFAIK, but the auto “should” work.

Like I said, a 302 swap seems a lot less complicated it’s cheaper and easier to mod/find parts for.

g/l either way

Mod the 96?