aquarium question

bought a 60 gallon fish tank at petsmart today since it was on sale and i’ve wanted a bigger tank for a while. What kind of fish or other animals can I get in addition to the fish to cut down on algee growth and keep the eco system happy. I would like to get some live plants also. So far we only have 2 goldfish and a picosamis (algee eater) we haven’t decided exactly what additional fish we want to buy.

im not a pro, but snails eat algee and are cheap as fuck as well as catfish I think that suck on the walls… Def snails though.

2 goldfish in a 60?? How big are they? The pleco will help with algae consumption a lot. Live plants are always a good addition as well.

You’ll have a million snails in no time lol, they keep popping up!

Fuck snails, they’ll keep breeding and can potentially become a problem. As far as pleco’s go- the common brown plecostomus will eat algae when its younger but as they get bigger they tend to go for processed food more and more. Check out something like an albino bristlenose pleco. They’re small, cheap and extremely hardy. They stand out too, they’re pretty cool to look at. And then theres always chemicals you can add to the tank to help with the algae. Algae is caused by an abundance of phosphorous I believe so things like frequent water changes will help too.

toomanycamaros, notenoughfish

They aren’t that big only about 4 inches and the algae eater is about 3. We had the 3 of them in a 10 gallon. I just bought the tank this afternoon and got it filled with water. I got the water temp and the wife wanted to put the fish in tonight and so far so good.

Weekly water changes help a lot, with vacuuming the gravel when you do it. A pictus cat is a nice bottom feeder as well, pretty cool looking and very active

nice, any plans for other fish?

yes I’m going to buy more this weekend. Had to get the tank setup first so the fish wouldn’t die in the bag waiting