ATTN metal polishers out there...

While I have my motor out, I want to polish anything aluminum under the hood. While I am not a total noobie when it comes to polishing metal, I have done bike frames and parts and wheels… but I usually sand most of it by hand or the big flat surfaces with a 6"da.

My question is this, the intake manifold runners and corners are tight, and a da with sand paper wont cut it. The valve cover is cast and I need to remove alot of material to flaten out the surface. Doing this by hand is way the fuck out of the question. I need a tool. I have a nice 6" bench polisher, 2.5" & 4 inch wheels for my die grinder… but I dont have any good sanding tools/bits to do the hard part.

I found some greaseless abrasive compound (80 grit, 120 grit) that you apply to a wheel, which sounds liek the ticket. Has anyone used this stuff? Can it be bought local?

The other idea is small stone bits for a die grinder or even a dremel. Anyone ever see any flexable type of disks or anything that might do the job?

3m products . go to fastenal or air gas on old karner rd. thats were i get mine from.

i buy everything from schenectady autobody. very good people. fastenal has been ill-equipped for all kinds of stuff that i’ve needed personally, so i don’t really go there. i’ve always used various disks/ wheels on my drill/ dremel to get into the extra tight spots.

edit: some of the best work in polishing is actually done by hand. many times a machine will “hog out,” or “booger up” your work too often. take your time and you will get the best results.

I called the guys at SCH auto body. I will stop there on my ride home. I really want to try out the abrasive greasless stuff.

FN… ill take a pic of the valve cover… you wont have any finger tips left if you sanded this in 6 stages before you hit the polisher!

polishing aluminum SUCKS

i have done many pieces by hand actually. close to everything under the hood of my passat was polished when i had it.