DIY "Racing" chair

If your computer is just too fast, you may want to consider this to keep you planted.

When I was browsing around for seats, I came across this seat from automotive warehouse in canada, and they were just clearing them out for $40!

I’d never put it in my car but said fuck it, it’ll make a good office chair. so i picked it up.

So first I measured all the holes on the bottom of the chair, and likewise on the mounting plate that holds the normal chair on a $20 walmart roller.

If my computer wasn’t being gay I’d take a screen shot of the solidworks drawing, but the actual part will do.

Did the part in SW, programmed the Turret at work, punched her out of 12ga steel and put her through for powdercoat in dark gray. (I’m very happy to have access to all this equipment…)

then from there is was simply nuts and bolts…

on the rollers

finished product

Cost:
walmart chair that i’ve been using for 4 years - $20
“Racing” seat - $40
12ga steel - free, took it from scrap pieces at work
powdercoat - free, again at work

total - $60.

And while the adapter plate does flex slightly with my weight on it, it doesn’t bottom out and is doing quite well. I planned on it flexing a bit, and it’s not a problem at all. even with the narrowed corners.

wheres the 3 point harness?

Any issues tipping when you sit back? Looks a bit top heavy in the pictures, but I could be mistaken. Pretty cool though, you should get a cheap 3 point harness in red just to be cheesy.

nice, you should double up the plates to take the flex out.

Nope not at all. I took a good guess as to the hole locations to try and balance it out properly.

I do have an extra plate, so we’ll see if it becomes a problem, but for now it’s ok.

EDIT - and just to be a dork for you guys…

nice :tup:

that must be the “two girls one cup harness”. haha

Dan

wow. 12 ga? doubling them up won’t be nearly as strong as one piece of 10 ga.