Driftable 300ZX Fairlady Z

I just recently bought a right hand drive 300zx and i’m very very interested in drifting.

I’ve taken her out a few times to play around but it seems tough to drift in this car. I’ve heard these cars are rather heavier and have sloppy stock suspension but i’m no mechanic and can’t really pin point my own conclusion as to what exactly is lacking. I can power slide but I want to know how to initiate a “true drift”. What do i need to do? is it mechanical work or more technique?

this is off of wikipedia. it just gives you an idea on how to do the drifts but doesnt show you. youtube has some training videos on there but they are very vauge but, the main ones you should focus on are hand braking and weight transfer(let the power over do the rest) when you are about to powover perform a clutch kick to tourque the wheels and start turning. even when starting to learn how to drift learn how to do donuts. when you are comfortable start making the donuts larger and practice holding and controling the drift.

Beginner techniques
These techniques do not use weight transition, so are typically the first thing the novice drifter learns.[9] However they are still used by the most experienced drifters, and require skill to execute properly. These techniques aim to induce a loss of traction on the rear wheels, either by locking the wheels (hand brake drift) or using enough power from the engine to break the traction force (power-oversteer and clutch kick).

Hand brake drift
The hand brake is a lever that stops the rear wheels, upsetting their grip and causing them to skid. Using the hand brake is one of the fastest, easiest, and most dangerous methods of drifting. It can also damage the car’s axles, stall the engine, ruin the rubber on the tires, etc. Three examples of this technique are:

Approach the corner at race speed.
Let go of the gas, hold the clutch and pull the handbrake just enough to upset the rear end, turn towards the corner.