drifting?

this season i finally got my sr installed and did the basics to her… but this spring im looking to maybe get into the drift events mainly because i wanna put some of what ive done to good use and not just showing off a bov to 75 year old ladies on the side of the street, with that said i have very little to NO experience drifting and all my friends drive fwd honda’s
and VW’s so i cant really ask them…

how do you drift?

they all tell me “just turn sharp and hammer the gas”

so i tried that… lol didnt really get the outcome i was looking for, so i figure that bare minimum 70% of this club has indeed drifted :stuck_out_tongue: and i was just looking for some advice

lol

and some one tell me if geting into a comp with a little under half a season experience is realistic? what did it take you (the average drifter) to learn?

adam

come out on saturday and I’ll show you personally.

http://www.son240sx.ca/forum/viewtopic.php?t=29182

driver ur car in the winter and learn.

watch the drift bible!!!

^with winter tires, in a parking lot with snow after hours.

lol thanks for the help but i was looking for a little more detail like maybe rpm info GEAR info

and definatly the does and dont’s of drifting

example:

19600 rpm in 1st gear on a highway off ramp… in rush hour traffic

…that falls under the donts of drifting… i think

adam

:stupid:

:worf:

Drifting is taking a corner with the rear tires having no traction while having the front wheels pointing (countersteering) in the direction you want to go and having your vehicle at higher angle than the car would normally take the corner while gripping.

You can choose either to show drift (having most angle, slide as early as possible and catch grip as late as possible) or race drift where you need to drift in order to shave time off your cornering speed (only in some cituations)