Flashing Highbeams from oncoming traffic

I hope a lot of you sonlings know this common courtesy on the road, even though I feel that a large portion of the public is clueless about this.

If you are driving, and you spot a speed trap, you are suppose to quickly flash your highbeams to warn oncoming traffic of the trap. I like to think I’m a pretty courteous driver on the road…I rarely succumb to road rage, but it does frustrate me when I do highbeam the oncoming driver trying to warn them of the impending speed trap hiding beneath the bridge, and all the driver does is give me the finger and pretty tells me to sod off.

Then their faces quickly change to unveil their realization when the cop has already pulled them over and writing them a ticket.

I was wondering if any of you guys had the same experience, or even better, are their any other road signals that I am not aware of that is used to warn other drivers of impending ticket dispensing.

^You’re not “supposed” to do it. It’s just a nice jesture.

And before anyone throws the HTA out there.
Flashing your highbeams, even during the day, is not illegal. It’s not even illegal to warn oncoming drivers of a speed trap.
However, having them on for a consistant duration of time during the day is illegal.

Although i usually go ahead and highbeam oncoming traffic.

I’ve heard numourous amounts of times it is illegal, and have met people who have been given a ticket for it.

Just curious as to how that would work…

It’s a stupid thing for a cop to try, cause you can say you accidentally hit your highbeams when you were reaching for something (adjusting the heating vent?) and if you want to, fight it, if the cop is dumb enough to give you one.

Ya its fight able. I did it twice today actually, Go me!

i hate that law…

it’s like…their slapping you with a ticket for being a nice person

stupid fascists

What a pointless waste of Internet.