Graphic design field

Is anyone on the forums in the graphic design/interactive multimedia career field, or have you been?

If so, can you either post what it was like, or PM me so we can discuss a few things.
I am considering it for a future career, thanks.

BTW, getting a job at Office Depot in the print/copy center, where i get to edit people photos, cropping red-eye ect., so I think I’m off to atleast a little start!

pm sent

Thank you, reply sent.

don’t buy a mac.

i’ve been in the design field for like 4 years now. graduated from school in 02. its cool i guess. im not quite making the money i want to yet, but it’ll come. gotta get experience and show what you can do and the opportunites will come, atleast i hope so. pm me if i can help you out in any way.

The only work like that i have done is on a Mac… but if i had a choice i would say PC>Mac

Ya, the field isn’t bad. I enjoy what I get to do most days. I graduated in 01, started a job a couple months later where I worked for almost 2 yrs. I bought equipment from that company (computer/plotter/etc.), so I could do my own graphics/banners/etc. on the side. Then I got away from the field for a little while and got back into it within the last couple years where I work at now. Like smokey said I’m not thrilled with what I’m making either. My biggest complaint would be that when I was job searching I struggled to find something in the Pgh area with good pay/benefits/job title/etc. All of the good jobs seemed to be in the bigger cities NY, Phili, cities in Cali, etc. I’m sure this goes for almost all job fields tho. I really feel that good networking will help you in the long run. GL with whatever you decide to do.

:op:

ps. i currently goto Ai of pittsburgh for Interactive Media Design

I have been working in the field for 5 years now. I have worked for two major places!

PM’s sent, thanks for the help guys.