Guitar players inside...

Ok, well after many years of saying I was going to, I’m finally teaching myself how to play. I bought a used Fender Squire and amp for dirt cheap, restrung and tuned it (Electronic tuner), and am working through an online tutorial I found and am doing good; or at least I think I am; I’ve been practicing about 30-45 minutes 4-5 times a week for about the last 3 weeks give or take.

The problem I’m having is my fingers are f’in killing me after the practice sessions from lack of calisous (sp), any suggestions on building these up or just keep playing and they’ll build up eventually?

just keep playing and you will build them up. I have been playing for about 7 years, it just takes time. i dont even know what my fingers would be like without rock hard callouses anymore lol. but just keep at it.

keep playin!

when your fingers are about to bleed…that’s a good sign…lol

lol, i miss playing as much as i did when i was in high school. i have seriously been slacking, so now when i do play i get teh same thing…just keep playing as often as you do and you will be all set.

[quote=“Karu,post:3,topic:26123"”]

keep playin!

when your fingers are about to bleed…that’s a good sign…lol

[/quote]

I’ve had them that close… or at least they sure as hell feel like it.

i havent played in a while… ive actually been playing the piano again, which i played before i did guitar

Just keep playing, it’s like working out for the first time. You’ll be sore for a few weeks, after that you’re good.

Make sure you are positioning your hand and fingers the RIGHT WAY.

[quote=“Rx3,post:7,topic:26123"”]

Just keep playing, it’s like working out for the first time. You’ll be sore for a few weeks, after that you’re good.

Make sure you are positioning your hand and fingers the RIGHT WAY.

[/quote]

I’ve been going through the stuff at cyberfret.com for learning; as for finger positions, the only one I’m struggling with like crazy is the G chord with the using the pinky…